Wednesday February 21-Feb-2018 As of 03:04 PM IST
Select your country :
Emiratis in US warned about Hurricane Irma
Latest who is who
2015-10-10 / Admin

Sekhar Basu to head Atomic Energy Commission

Sekhar Basu, a Padma Shri recipient, was appointed the chairman of the Atomic Energy Commission. Basu, who is the current director of Bhabha Atomic Research Centre (BARC) and chief executive of the Nuclear Recycle Board (NRB), will replace RK Sinha who will retire on October 23. Basu was also appointed the Secretary of the department of atomic energy and will have a tenure till September 19, 2016

After taking over as director of BARC in 2012, his main accomplishments were the setting up of the India Neutrino Observatory, Indian Pressurised Water Reactor, and the starting of new projects for societal activities. The Power Reactor Fuel Reprocessing Plant at Tarapur was built under his guidance.

Follow us on Facebook for more updates

Other News in this category
  • Actor Suresh Chatwal passes away in Mumbai
  • Manohar elected first independent ICC Chairman
  • 2 Indian scholars get highest Mongolian honour
  • Myanmar Parliament approves new post for Suu Kyi
  • Govt to release stamps on popular personalities
  • Moorti Devi Award to famous writer Dr Vishwanath Tripathi
  • ''I thanked the pope for what he did” says Raul Castro
  • Shami helps India level ODI series 1-1
  • Sania-Bruno win US Open mixed doubles